Posts: 1,150
Threads: 105
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation:
32
Lol that rep was for the last thing you helped me on.
I believe the tables are named something else in each one.
Do you know how to make games? Do you know 3d Modeling? If so then visit
Posts: 1,351
Threads: 111
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation:
40
But they are still in the same databse?
If and if not you still can just write up a custom sql_query that will insert the needed things into myBB table
If they are not in the same db then you'll also need a new connection.
Just take a look on what data myBB saves upon the registration and copy that query based on your other form inputs.
For a login I would then check for the myBB cookie when loging the user into the Game.
Posts: 1,150
Threads: 105
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation:
32
12-21-2009, 02:11 PM
(This post was last modified: 12-21-2009, 02:12 PM by Grizzly.)
Yeah, I'll have to play around with it, I'm still new to the SQL part of PHP so it may take a little bit of trial and error. The DB's are different DB's that are part of a completely different domain. Is that possible? I may look at making an individual forum for each game, instead of running wtih one centralized forum, that may be the easiest way to do it, and just have the forum and game run out of the same DB. It would be like game.com adn then forum.game.com.
Do you know how to make games? Do you know 3d Modeling? If so then visit
Posts: 1,150
Threads: 105
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation:
32
Thanks, I'll fiddle around with it some once I get my laptop back. I'm trying to get a few things knocked out while I don't have it.
Do you know how to make games? Do you know 3d Modeling? If so then visit
Posts: 43
Threads: 6
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation:
0
What you're basically doing is trying one script to modify two databases, the game and the forum. You could do this manually. i.e. have an sql query for the first database, close the connection, open a connection on the second database, insert everything, and close it. It's a lot of work, I know. The other thing you could try to do, is find a way to call the script that the forum uses to add a member. I'm not quite sure how to do this, but all it really takes is a post request. Either way works, the second one _might_ be a little bit simpler, though.